Response to iPhone 3.0 beta firmware faq on Engadget

I just got finished reading Engadget’s article “iPhone 3.0 beta firmware faq”: http://www.engadget.com/2009/03/19/iphone-3-0-beta-firmware-faq/. I have to say, their one question and I quote:

“Is it stable enough for real use?

So far, yes — if you’re an Engadget reader, you’re probably an early adopter-type who’s willing to deal with a little pain. So far 3.0 has been pretty good, I wouldn’t try to talk anyone out of it (unless they had some crucial apps that weren’t yet working in 3.0, or needed it to be unlocked or jailbroken).”

I do not agree with that. I don’t think it is stable enough for real use yet. Granted, I am using it but I have been having problems that I would much rather fix than have the new features. To be honest, I’ve been an iPhone user since iPhone original day 1. I never had landscape SMS. So I haven’t used that new feature yet, and don’t see that I will cause I’ve just been used to portrait SMS for ever now. Secondly, I really wanted MMS. Guess what? It doesn’t work on AT&T yet. So that’s a bust. Also, I have had numerous weirdo bugs like freezing while trying to answer a phone call. Also, photos don’t load in facebook, and twinkle puts messages behind the status bar on occasion. I tried to play music, and nothing was playing. I had to fully restart the phone.

Don’t get me wrong, I love iPhone and I love iPhone 3.0. I would think twice before installing beta software again. And I definitely wouldn’t recommend it to people who are just casual users. However, I do plan on building an app that takes advantage of some of the 3.0 SDK features, hoping to get it out for 3.0 launch. That would be awesome.

One Response to Response to iPhone 3.0 beta firmware faq on Engadget

  1. Now you can better assign various purposes to best utilize GPS instant tracking technology
    and systems for consumer use. For causeing the device
    run at snappy speed, it really is furnished with 1.
    One could also browse the net with GPRS, EDGE and Wi-Fi.

Leave a Reply

