Asus EEE PC 900A

Just to give you the specs up front, it’s got a 4Gig SSD, Intel Atom 1.6ghz, 1GB Ram, SD Card slot, No bluetooth, No webcam. 

Recently, I read an article at TUAW detailing how a Dell Mini 9 failed a fellow blogger when he installed Mac OS X on it. I myself have been running into problems getting an opening system that is usable on it. I have used Linux since back in the mid 90s, and been an avid OSX user since 2000/2001 whenever the public beta dropped.

Linux has been a bear to install and run on here. Easy Peasy v1.0 was working fine but Jaunty Jackolepe came out (9.04) and decided I needed a run at that. So I had my run, and then eventually it would not boot. I would be able to log in but not be able to see any sort of screen or anything. Instead of trying a re-install I thought I’d go a different route.

I made an N-Lite WinXP CD and took out most stuff. I followed a great guide located here:http://forum.eeeuser.com/viewtopic.php?id=37047

Included in that link, is a link to the guide that creates your Windows XP CD. Then also, some other tips on improving the speed. This thing is working fantastic. Really, really fantastic. I have to say.

However, back to my original point. The TUAW Blogger stated that the machine was cramped and no good to type novels on. I have to agree with him. While I am banging away at the keyboard right now typing this post, I can see how my right and left hands both have to contort in a weird way to type what I need. This is causing discomfort in my right hand. However, for browsing the Internet, quick AIMs, and what not, this machine can not be beat. Especially when I got it from a friend for $150. This is the ultimate portable computer.

Final comment is that I think this machine can be used in the right conditions. To use this to type a novel, I doubt it. To use it as an internet/aim machine, definitely. If you get yourself an external mouse, that also increases the experience a million fold. I’m not a big fan of external mouses, but in this case it is way worth it.

This post was written on my Asus EEE PC 900A running Google Chrome on WinXP N’Lited!

Leave a Reply

